A Walk in the Park

It was too nice of a day to stay indoors, so I walked down to Riverlink Park. On the way there I saw the True Value Hardware store was converted to Ace Hardware with the entrance moved to the North side of the building, blocking what was a drive thru from Liberty Street to Church Street (You can still drive around through the parking lot). Riverlink Park was closed for construction recently but with the official opening of the Erie Canalway last week, I figured it would be open. It was open but there is still a lot of construction to be done. A generator is providing power at this point and both of the towers on the other side of the walkway are in the middle of some concrete work. Handicap access to the elevator is still closed off. The park still has a long way to go before it is fully operational. I walked under the rt. 30 bridge on the Mohawk and found a new dirt roadway to the Eastern bank where the Mohawk Valley Gateway Overlook is being built. I still can’t get used to that name and I’m afraid no one else will either. They will continue to call it the Pedestrian Bridge or the Bridge to Nowhere. Steel rebar is in place where I assume concrete will soon be poured for a bridge support on the East bank next to where the Chuctanunda Creek flows into the Mohawk. You can see the cranes in place working on the South side section. I continued taking pictures on my walk back until the light started to fade into a bright magenta sunset.

_MG_4264_MG_4268_MG_4271_MG_4274_MG_4276_MG_4279_MG_4284_MG_4287_MG_4290
_MG_4296-2
_MG_4309
_MG_4323
_MG_4328
_MG_4334
_MG_4352
_MG_4365
_MG_4362
_MG_4361
_MG_4368
_MG_4370

Categories: Amsterdam, History, Outdoors, Photography, Riverlink Park | Tags: ,

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “A Walk in the Park

  1. diane

    Gerry, the pictures are gorgeous 🙂 I so wish flowering trees lasted longer 🙂 Have a great day 🙂

  2. Thanks Diane. I hope the park is ready for the first concert organized by the Amsterdam Reads on June 3, 2014. http://www.amsterdamlibrary.com/Amsterdam-READS-2013.html

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

