2012 in review

This year my blog went through some changes. The Grove Street Grumble became The Grove Street Photographer.  The Buddhists helped me discover that I had more to be thankful for than to grumble about. While the statistics showed people really liked my grumbling posts, there was also a number of people who did not. One reporter for the Gazette even described my writing style as acerbic. While I still have a few acerbic posts now and then, for the most part I have tried to focus on what I can do well, photography.

Sixty posts were added to the Grove Street Photographer blog in 2012. The blog had 33,000 views from 95 countries. May 29, 2012 saw the highest number of views in one day with 1,134 people viewing the post Celebrating Buddhas Birthday.

Other popular posts viewed in 2012 included two from 2011. In the number two spot  is A New York State of Death  followed by Photo Restoration in the third place. The fourth and fifth places go to my 2012 acerbic posts The Many Faces of Michael Chiara and Letter to the Montgomery County Board of Supervisors.

The 2012 post with the largest number of comments was another acerbic post Mayor Proposes Two Condoms for the City of Amsterdam.

What I took from these statistics was that people would rather look at my photos than read about my political views and I’m good with that. The local papers use talented journalists who are very good at covering local politics. When it comes to photography, I have the edge.

See you next year!

_MG_0524

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2012 annual report for this blog.

Categories: Amsterdam, Celebration, History, Media, Photography, Politics, WPHO | Tags: , , , ,

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “2012 in review

  1. Cudmore Bob

    Always enjoy the photos, happy new year..

    Bob Cudmore’s book “Stories from the Mohawk Valley” http://www.bobcudmore.com The Bob Cudmore Morning Show, 6-10 a.m. weekdaysLite 104.7 / 1570AM WVTL, Amsterdam, N.Y. http://www.wvtlfm.com Focus on Mohawk Valley Historyhttp://www.dailygazette.com/weblogs/bcudmore/ 518 346-6657

  2. Robert Purtell

    Happy
    New year Gerry

  3. I look forward to continuing to view the new reports for 2012. While grumbling is just a part of some of our personalities, thankfulness for those wonderful gifts that we are given is even better. Keep up the good work, Jerry, and remember…the seed of love forever blossoms. I hope to see you soon, too, perhaps at a local workshop for creativity….place…TBA !

Blog at WordPress.com.

