Riverlink Park

It has been over a month since I sent an email through our City of Amsterdam website inquiring about this year’s entertainment at Riverlink Park. I never received a reply. When you check the City of Amsterdam website for Parks, you are greeted with the following post that has not been updated since 2009:

The City of Amsterdam pays $549 per month of taxpayer money to support this website.  Why is it not updated?  If I had not read the July 2, 2011, edition of The Recorder that listed the 2011 Riverfront Park Concert Series, I would not have known that the park has its own website that also lists this information.

Update: The Riverlink Concert Series and Riverlink Café information were updated today July 5, 2011, on the City of Amsterdam Website.  The Canal Fest and fireworks information remain incorrect.

I brought a new Amsterdam homeowner down to Riverlink Park today.  He moved to Amsterdam in January and never knew there was a restaurant in the park.  My friend was amazed that there were no people in this beautiful park on Saturday of the 4th of July weekend,  just one boat docked. The restaurant was not open for lunch.  The bathrooms in the park were locked but the elevator was working.

The point I am trying to make is that while Mayor Thane cries about a lack of marketing budget, we are missing opportunities already in place to keep the public informed about these events in our City, potentially increasing tourism and bringing people back downtown.

I also noticed the American Flags that once adorned the tops of the two towers covering the park entrance are now gone.

Riverlink Park will be even more amazing once Phase II of the project is completed and the Chalmers building is finally demolished.

Categories: Amsterdam, Entertainment, Politics | Tags: , , , , , ,

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Riverlink Park

  1. Diane

    Jerry,

    I have long complained that our web site is way underused. Some information on there is over 3 years old and was never corrected by Thom Georgia when he was in charge of it. There is so much more that can be done. Finally after three years, they are just now putting the agenda’s on there. What about the minutes of the meeting? We have a long way to go. But this web site was not designed for ease of use by city residents, it was more for marketing to outsiders. The taxpayers are getting the short end of the stick. If I am elected, I think that is something that needs to be looked into and possibly go out to bid. We are not getting our money’s worth, but is that the city’s/mayor’s fault or this web site team??

    As for the restuarant, I may be wrong, but I thought he was to be there and keep things open for the boaters?? They can’t use the showers if they are locked. And I am surprised that he was closed. Holiday hours I guess. Concerts start next weekend I think.

    Were the only flowers in the planters?? When everything is planted, it really looks beautiful down there. And as usual your pictures are great.

  2. Diane

    Jerry,

    We also have banners in city hall that could be put up for more color.

  3. Rob

    It is a nice park but when I was there with you I saw nothing to really attract someone to it. You can’t go swimming in the river due to the current I assume and providing entertainment to draw people would cost more money wouldn’t it? I also think that having The Great Sacandaga Lake so close by is too much competition for Amsterdam during the summer season.

    • Swimming is illegal but a small boat launch would be nice. The schedule of entertainment along with the restaurant menu and hours can be found by clicking on the link to the Riverlink Park website.

  4. What a shame! That amount of money being put into a web page that hasn’t been updated is enough to make anyone sick. I remember going there a few years back with my fiancé to watch fireworks, It was beautiful and we kept saying how nice it would be if other towns and smaller cities had places like this.It sounds like more wasted money by politicians. Imagine all the other items in the budget that are also getting wasted. Its probably enough to pay for whatever Amsterdam needs.

  5. Scott Friers

    I would think the cafe would be open on Sunday’s. Seems the park would be busiest on the weekends? Too bad…….

  6. Diane

    Jerry,

    The mayor just posted on Facebook about the concert schedule and the cafe. Interesting as I am surprised it was not open for the weekend.

    • I’m glad my blog continues to have a positive affect. The censored Facebook page is just another personal blog of Ann Thane, who tailors the content and comments to suit a personal agenda. The City of Amsterdam website belongs to its citizens and is advertised as an accomplishment in the Mayor’s campaign literature as winning a “Best in Class” award. I guess the judges did not consider accurateness or maintenance. The establishment of an attendant at Riverlink park as being responsible for the cleanliness of the restrooms is also listed as an accomplishment by Ann Thane. The restrooms remain clean because they are not open!

      • Diane

        I wonder if his job was one of the ones cut for this summer?? Notice none of the flower beds are planted, only the three containers? Usually flowers are all the place. However, VV just mentioned trouble trying to find the music listing on the city’s 500.00 a month web site. If they have trouble, imagin what the public goes thru??

Blog at WordPress.com.

