Go Where I’ve Bean

GWIB Coffee House and Polish Deli, located at 207 Church Street in Amsterdam, NY, was the site of this mornings taping of The Show With No Name. Owned and run by Sue Blazejewski, they really do serve the best coffee I have ever tasted.  Sue has a very engaging personality and she doesn’t miss a thing. This was my first visit to GWIB and I stopped outside the building to take some photos. Sue stepped out of the front door in an authoritative manner asked “Would you like my autograph too?” After identifying myself and stating my purpose, Sue became the most inviting host you could ask for, even posing for an impromptu portrait.

As soon as I stepped in the door of GWIB, Sue handed me a mug of the most delicious hot coffee. There was a large deli case stocked with various meats, sodas and Polish food.   The eclectic furnishings were both comfortable and interesting. The various wall hangings and bulletin board full of postcards take you on an extended road trip of which I assume inspired the name. Sue was in constant motion as she tended to the room full of customers.

The gathering of the usual suspects comprising TSWNN was center stage in the coffee house occupying a circle of upholstered armchairs. The taping was about to begin.

I will not divulge the subjects discussed as the recording will soon be posted on The Show With No Name’s website. I will say that we hear more from Sue Blazejewski on the show.

I enjoyed my visit to GWIB and put in my order for an Easter Babka and fresh Kielbasa.

Categories: Amsterdam, Cooking, Politics | Tags: , , , ,

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Go Where I’ve Bean

  1. Rob

    We should go for a cup on my next visit!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 498 other followers

